Dating Advice in the Digital Age

January 6, 2010 at 3:07 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , )

I confess. As my potential dating pool has shrunk to a puddle, I have succumbed to the temptation of casting my net in the online dating world. I’m not going to lie; it’s a scary place.

I’m not going to try to warn other women away from online dating. It can be very entertaining if you approach it with the same expectations as you would, say, “Circus of the Stars”…you shouldn’t take it too seriously, but you might just see something good. However, I would like to offer some advice for the menfolk out there. Seriously, it might actually help you to be taken seriously.

Now, I realize that there are men on the dating sites who are there just to harass women–mainly because they lack the cajones to harass women in person, like men had to in the good old days (BC – before computers). But I am making the assumption that there are some men out there who feel their current options aren’t working and truly want to find someone to have a healthy relationship with. These suggestions are given to this crop of men, hoping that they will avoid certain behavior which would cause them to be lumped together with their cajones-less brethren.

1. Yes we like to see pictures, same as you. However, it is not in the least bit hot to see you topless, face obscured by your cell phone as you snap a picture of yourself in the bathroom mirror. Nope, not hot. It’s freakish.

2. Unless you feel that your true love is a materialistic snob, please avoid the urge to pose with your car. And the trick where you have your picture taken casually, and your car just happens to be in the background? We’re on to that, too. I’m sure you love your Hemi, but it’s not going to make any dateworthy woman scream, “I want him” at her laptop.

3. Learn how to spell. Learn how to write a complete sentence. I’m not sure why so many men want to give the appearance that they are illiterate. This is the US, we kind of expect you to be able to string a few words together, while making sense.

4. Learn to read. As in, take the time to read our profiles. If you refuse to take the time to do that whole reading thing, at least be polite when I point out to you that we might not be compatible (because I *read* your profile). And definitely do not ask me, “Why?” Because I will just tell you to read *my* profile.

5. Save the cheesy pick-up lines for the bar scene (or at least the first date). My first contact with you should not be, “Ur so hot, u make my world complete.” It makes me wish we were at a bar, so I’d have a drink to throw in your face.

Good luck!

4 Comments

  1. Angela said,

    This is great! πŸ™‚

  2. Linda said,

    Exellent post!!! Totaly on the money!!!

  3. Donna said,

    Keep writing! This is so right on!

  4. Sylvie said,

    You are a rock-star!!! The circus of the stars comment made me snort!!! Keep up the great blogging. Hopefully your search will be more successful than mine so far and you can just impart your words of wisdom on us! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

