In a Manner of Speaking…

January 18, 2010 at 1:25 am (Uncategorized)

Ok, this really has nothing to do with the manners I am talking about, but it's pretty funny anyways.

Apparently I didn’t get the memo that informed humanity that the increased use of online communication made manners obsolete. As I’m usually the last to find out anything anyhow, I guess I shouldn’t be surprised that I am behind the curve yet again. And to be perfectly honest, I know there were quite a few humans out there who weren’t to keen on using manners even before the ‘net took over.

I think what may bother me personally the most right now, is how people believe that an online communication means that they can completely ignore without repercussions. These are the same people who would claim to be good people, and would never think to ignore someone on the street who says “hello.” But suddenly, it’s OK and easy to totally dismiss another human being because you cannot look into their eyes at that moment.

Another trend I have suddenly found myself exposed to is the belief that the online communication means you can feel totally comfortable with saying *anything*. And I mean a-n-y-t-h-i-n-g. Since when is it acceptable for you to tell someone what you’d like to do to someone if you got them alone. Now maybe you have realized that “getting them alone” is a pipe dream you will never realize, but if you’re not willing to say it to someone’s face, keep it locked up in that pervy little brain of yours.

As much as I like to joke around, I’m beginning to think that we are creating a world where people will forget the art of face-to-face conversation and communications. If this doesn’t scare you, it should. Humans, as much as we like to think otherwise, are simple mammals who have relied on the non-verbal cues of body language to survive for hundreds of thousands of years (unless you are Sarah Palin, then it would be the last 6000). These cues can only be read when in another person’s presence…behaviors such as lying, aggression and manipulation will not be as apparent in online communication, leaving people vulnerable to making dangerous assumptions and decisions; how many times have you heard of some kid going off to meet someone they met online, only to have the situation become dangerous?

I guess I suddenly find myself becoming one of those Luddites who sounds like they hate technology. I don’t. But like anything, it can be harmful if not used as prescribed. And if you are using technology to hide from being human, I will tell you to your face, you need some serious help.

Photo Courtesy of Sung Sook

Leave a Reply

