The Seduction of the Semi-colon

January 21, 2010 at 3:15 am (Uncategorized)

I never thought I would be in a position to say that proper grammar would make me hot. I guess it is something I take for granted, being an English major in college. And I also realize that the internet has forced a broader definition for what is acceptable as legible written communication. Such as starting a sentence with “and.”

However, my peeps on a forum (Hello, fellow LE’ers!), have noticed how much we are drawn to men who can wield their linguistic skills like a paintbrush, and write email messages that are actually…interesting…and legible…and intelligent. Honestly, it is getting to the point where we brag about receiving an email with proper punctuation and spelling. One even posted ” Punctuation is Sexy” as her Facebook status. I’m seriously thinking we should have bumper stickers printed up.

So for any men out there who are trying to seduce a lovely woman, toss out your dog-eared Karma Sutra. Instead, try grabbing Elements of Style the next time you are about to type up a message. A couple of properly used commas and capitalized sentences, and she will be putty in your hands. And you can trust me on that.

Leave a Reply

