Who knew bacon could be so evil?

March 12, 2010 at 12:48 am (Uncategorized)

Photo Courtesy kennymatic: http://www.flickr.com/people/kwl/

Years ago, in a universe far, far, away, I went on a couple of dates…was trying to find someone after I had broken up with a long-term boyfriend. Was looking for some excitement to liven up some boring days…and the universe didn’t disappoint.

I was supposed to meet a nice, young man at a local restaurant…Gabriel’s Gate (If you are ever in Buffalo, NY, you need to check it out, it rocks.) A nice lunchtime date was planned. What a perfect way to spend a Saturday afternoon, right?

Well, right away I knew there wasn’t much chemistry, but it’s always nice to chat and have a good lunch, right? So I ordered a salad, he ordered the BLT.  I say “he” not because I am trying to protect his identity, but because I honestly can’t remember the guy’s name. I’m bad like that.

So the conversation was nice, not great. Just the basic getting to know you chatter. Finally, our lunch arrives. My salad was fantastic. I mean so good. It’s pretty sad I remember the Caesar Salad and I don’t remember his name, but it was that good. As I am munching away on the crispy romaine, chattering away about God knows what, when the date gets the strangest look one his face. I remember running backwards through my recent statements to figure out what caused the puzzled, distressed look. I found nothing.

Because I’m so sensitive, I asked “Are you OK?”

To which he replied the last thing I ever expected. “I think I broke a tooth.”

What? On a BLT? How freakin’ hard was that bacon?

And then he proceeded to spit the tooth out on his napkin, and began to study the offending piece in earnest.

Not knowing what to do, but not wanting to waste a perfectly good salad…I just went back to eating.

After what seemed like an hour, he announced he had to go to the dentist (ya think?), threw a $20 on the table and left before I could even blink.

Not a bad way to spend the afternoon, though. I got a great story and an amazing salad out of the deal. But I learned to beware the bacon. It has a dark side.

Leave a Reply

