Hanging it up…

March 15, 2010 at 12:19 am (Uncategorized)

Well, I lasted about a week being back out in the online dating world. Actually, within 48 hours, I was ready to run screaming for the hills…but, frankly, there aren’t any really good hills around where I live, so I just stayed put. Stayed put and listened to the message the universe was trying to send me–

“GET THE HELL OFF THOSE STUPID DATING SITES, YOU TWIT! THEY’RE NOT FOR YOU…HERE YOU WANT PROOF?”

And, boy, did I get proof. The universe doesn’t have a particularly nice voice either. It’s the kind of scratchy, whiny voice that pierces your eardrum…so you’d better listen unless you want your ears to bleed. As much as I wanted to cover my ears and shout “La, la, la, I’m not listening,” I need to heed that voice. The alternative is losing faith in testosterone-laden creatures entirely, and I’m not quite ready to go there–yet.

The more important thing I have realized is that I will take being alone over putting up with the ridiculous shenanigans I experienced this past week. I always knew that being alone was the better choice, but I have never felt it so strongly in my bones before! And to be honest, I am really happy with where my life is right now. And if that’s all I get for a while, I will be a lucky woman.

1 Comment

  1. augustblues said,

    I totally get your post about online dating…I did it for one month and I’ve been posting my experiences on my blog…it’s pretty discouraging but it was an experience. Kinda helped me to know what I want in a mate and especially what I don’t want.

Leave a Reply

